Adventures with the Japanese Language

If I had to describe the Japanese language, experience is bound to comment on how contextually driven it is. From my adventures in this beautiful country before the pandemic, spoken Japanese, especially when done casually, finds itself embraced by a myriad of possible scenarios, only to be narrowed down with the mighty help of a frame of reference. For someone learning the language, this can cause a lot of funny little anecdotes!

 

Amusement in the Amusement Park 

Many Japanese students experience working part-time while in university. With the constant need for workers and the declining population, it is easy to so why.  I once worked at a food hall cooking and serving all sorts of Japanese set meals 定食. It was a very busy amusement park, and workers needed to travail together to get through the hectic lunch hour orders. Sometimes, I’d find myself scooping cups upon cups of rice onto endless bowls. Other times, I wished there were more than six noodle fryers to compensate for the 40 long seconds it takes to cook the ramen noodles.

One day after the rush, one of my coworkers said to me, “クロエちゃん、ご飯ね!”

Instinctively, I moved myself towards the gigantic rice cooker to scoop out some rice, only to be stopped by the same coworker, clarifying and saying it was time for me to take my lunch break.

Nothing short of embarrassing! People were kind enough to smile. Haha!

 

Learning with Genki 2 

Imagine this. You are learning a new language, and have just gotten to the 18th Chapter of Genki 2. You’re starting to put two and two together with Japanese, and you’re sprits are high and hopeful. When you get to the grammar section of the chapter, you stop reading. You reread the rules of te-form + SHIMAU again and again.

Apparently, depending on the situation, it can be interpreted as having done something completely, or having done something with lack of premeditation.

I’m very excited to mess up a conversation with this grammar point. Haha!

 


 

The ambiguity of the Japanese language is not unique, but definitely is a prominent trait for a language learner. Now, back to studying!

Leave a comment