HIGHER

But those who hope in The Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, walk and not grow faint.

Isaiah 40:31

image

Elim Youth Camp 2013 in Baguio, Philippines was a moment worth remembering.  It was a beautiful and life-changing experience.  I feel truly blessed and happy.  I have learned so much in just three days.

We campers were told that we are beacons of hope.  A beacon is a source of guidance.  With God as our power source, we can be inspirations for other people.  We should help others who falter, guide those who are weak.  Together we can rise and soar like eagles.

Teamwork, discipline, love, friendship, sociability, optimism, hope…  The list of things I have learned never ends.  I have learned things in camp I would never have learned anywhere else.  A renowned writer once said, “Maybe everyone can live beyond what they’re capable of.”  This is true.  We do not know a lot of things about ourselves.  That is why we are forever learning.

This year’s camp is one of my favorite experiences.  The lecturers told us to be ourselves and not to worry about our insecurities and imperfections because we were all made in the image of God.  I did as I was told, and it felt great to be myself.  It was nice how nobody was quick to judge anybody, how everyone accepted me just the way I was.  There in the camp, I felt like I actually belonged somewhere.

I cannot thank everyone enough for everything.  Thank you, camping buddies, both old and new!  You guys are awesome! I am very grateful to Bianca, the girl who introduced me to Elim and all of this.  Without her, I never would have known what I was missing out on.  Thanks, Bianca!  Lastly, I would like to thank God.  Thank You for giving me such a wonderful life.  Thank You for the rain.

As I rode down the mountain and back to Manila, I felt changed.  And I have changed, for the better.  Who says change cannot be good?

With You
I rise
My soul rejoices
As I soar
Without fear
With You I’m free

(Rise)

Photo by Dani Mei Everett

~Chloe

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

