GLITTER AND SCARS

Isn’t it ironic?

Glitter and scars.

I chose this to be the title of this post specifically because it applies very well to me and to many athletes out there.  Well, this does not only apply to athletes, students will understand my theme too if they analyze the title well.  It is just a matter of thinking.

As both a figure skater and a student (And I presume I speak for all the skaters/students out there), it is difficult to juggle training, academics, and social life.  Time management and diligence are very important factors that will help a person deal with this kind of pressure.  While some people say that it is impossible to manage all three (viz., training, academics, and social life), I think the opposite.  I DO think it is possible.  I am coping well in school.  I do not have sufficient time to train on and off the ice, but i still try to MAKE time to be able to do what I love, which is figure skating. I also have some time to hang out and relax with my friends.

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!”

 (Audrey Hepburn)  

If you set your mind to anything, there will be a higher percentage of success than if you think you are going to fail anyway.  You may not get exactly what you want, but you will definitely get what you deserve.

Unquestionably, you will not achieve anything if you do not take action.  Figure skaters cannot bag a gold or a title if he or she does not train.  Students do not expect high grades if he or she is too lazy to study.  If you see a skater on the podium smiling and getting his or her picture taken, it means that he or she worked very hard.  All the scars, mental ones or physical ones, that a person gets in figure skating will just be part of the journey that skater is taking when he or she is on the ice performing in a glittery costume.  If you see a student excel and receive merits, it means that he or she was very studious.  All the late nights studying will just be something that student can reminisce once he or she is on the stage receiving a diploma.

 Image

Image   

No matter what happens in life, keep the faith and stay positive.  

“We are twice armed if we fight with fate.”

(Plato)

A positive attitude will get you through the toughest times.  Believe me.  I know this by experience.  

Thank you for reading!

~Chloe

2 Comments Add yours

  1. C says:

    Hi! (hopefully I don’t sound like a creep with this comment yikes) but let me tell you that even though I just started off with skating, this already (somehow) applies to me and I really do have to agree with this post in general. With hard work, dedication and balance, everything will be worth it! 🙂 Hope you drop by my blog as well (http://themaximumproject.blogspot.com/) and more power to your blog, your skating and of course, you!

    1. verychloe says:

      Thank you! No, you don’t sound like a creep, by the way. And yes, I shall check out your blog! xx

Leave a Reply

